Your body isn’t dumb

There is more information out there about health than ever before. People who have lost weight think they have the secret key to success and they might, but it’s their key to success. Everyone’s body is different. And that is what makes you, actually you. There is not one person on this planet that is the exact same. That is why it is important for you to really take the time and figure out what works for you and what doesn’t.  I wish there was a one size fits all approach to getting healthy and in shape but that doesn’t seem to be the case in my experience. I know people who can eat no carbs and feel fine just the basic of  veggies and protein all day. These people believe that their approach works and it might for them.  But that same approach might make you feel like shit. I’ve tried the whole low carb thing and I can barley make it through the day without going crazy and wanting to chew tree bark. One time I went on a one month long experiment of cutting down my carbs to the bare minimum. I was training pretty hard but taking in barley any carbs and I would end up craving Heady topper when I woke up every morning. For those of you who don’t know what a Heady topper is, I feel sorry for you because you are truly missing out! It’s a double indian pale ale from Vermont and it is simply delicious. But craving that at 630 am is a little scary!! So for me at this point I know that lower carbs don’t work if I plan to have some intensity in my workouts.

This is where it gets tricky and most people give up. There are too many quick fixes out there that will solve your problems in on simple step or pill. Sadly to say this is not true. You need to try different things and give them an honest shot before you know what works best for you. Go without dairy for a month see how you feel. Go without grains for a month you might be surprised at what happens or you might not notice anything. That’s the only way you will find out what works and what doesn’t.

Most people don’t know how truly good they can feel with an adequate diet because they always feel like crap and have a caffeine IV in the all day. If you fuel your body with the foods it needs you will experience just how good you can feel. The one down side I have found personally with myself and with most people I talk to is that once you get your body running on the good stuff, eating just some of that junk you use to call food you will really end up paying for it. You will notice how bad you feel and will be amazed at how you went through life feeling like that now that you know how good you can feel.

So I challenge you to experiment with your dietary habits! Do some research and see what really works for your body and what doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

