Goals, life, and the Big picture

In life there are many obstacles that you will have to overcome on a day to day basis. Hell just getting up for work every day could be one of your obstacles but you always manage to do it. I watch people do things they hate or don’t like every day. Yet they continue to press on even when some of these things can actually hurt you or not contribute to a better life and I always think to myself, why do we do this to ourselves? We go to a job we despise, take orders from a boss we hate and don’t respect just to get by in life. We also workout and hate every second of it just because we think it’s healthy and we are doing the right thing. But did you ever stop to think that maybe there’s a different way to go about it? 

You always have to question your beliefs and make sure there in line with your end goal. If your goal is to be happy and successful but you’re working a job you don’t truly get excited for I can tell you you’re probably going down the wrong road. If you’re going to the same classes or gym to work out and doing the same things over and over but you hate every second of it you’re probably wasting your time. Find something else that will cause you to move and break a sweat. You see to be truly great at something or to get the best results you have to be 100% into it in mind, body and spirit. And yeah yeah I know it sounds all woo woo but its true most people who excel at things really have a passion for it or are solving a problem they have had. 

 Where am I going with this you ask? Well if you know me I have been very active most of my life in some way or another, whether it’s outside activities or competing in KB sport I’ve always pushed my body hard to do my best and I have no regrets. But as I have gotten older, I have realized I was always looking at this small window in my life and not the big picture. With two injuries under my belt my views are evolving and maybe I don’t need to be the best or the strongest. What about being able to move in all the human movements without pain or restriction? I don’t want to wake up in the morning and be stiff or sore and who the hell am I trying to impress?! I am far more impressed with a person who actually cares about being a great person and helping others find the greatness in themselves, than someone who looks great in their muscle shirt flexing in the mirror talking about how many grams of protein they take in everyday. 

Think about it, what do you want to be known for when people talk about you? Do you ever want to look back someday and be like I regret doing this or that for so long? Time is the most precious thing we all share and it’s the only thing we can’t get more of. So I challenge you to think about different aspects of your life and see if they match up with your big picture. If not maybe it’s time to start planning a change.
Leave a Reply

